Piecing Things Together

The last few weeks have seemed a bit plodding, with flashes of light in between… there’s been trips to the library, coffee at the cafe, and my Babe had his birthday a few days ago ❤
I also had a look around the Art Gallery here. Haven’t been in a while, but I thought I’d have a look at the heritage quilts on display (they’re there until the end of the month).
I’ve never really done any quilting, but I can appreciate the hard work that went in to them.
There are the fancier quilts, whether for display or use –

…and the “crazy quilt” type designs, which look like they would have been fun to do.

Then there are the everyday, useful quilts, such as one for a cradle

…or necessities for warmth, made from scrap material from worn out clothes, or samples of dress or suiting material. These appear to be called “waggas“, which were improvised using whatever was available, and generally made by men.

I love the thought of making utilitarian things out of scraps and leftovers – a reminder that even the everyday can be beautiful!

Published in: on October 16, 2021 at 9:33 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://1000fieldsofroses.wordpress.com/2021/10/16/piecing-things-together/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment