Counting The Blessings

img_1532

I’m just in that comfortable space between finishing outstanding assessments and the release of my next subjects – a feeling of freedom and ease.
…of course, I sent off the last assessment past midnight last night, so it may just be tiredness! 🙂

I’ve been reading this book – I saw it in a catalogue and found it at the library. It was hard to get into at first – the language is a bit “flowery” – and I’m still not totally sold, but I’ve persevered. It’s basically about recognising and counting God’s gifts in each day, even in the midst of pain and grief, everyday sameness and boredom – the minutiae of life.

There’s always a gift in each day. It can take time and effort to “catch” them, but it changes us when we accept and name them… even if it feels like betraying the grief sometimes.

I’m thankful for the gift of my life today. For little yellow butterflies dancing around each other in the garden, and for old TV shows I can share with my Sweet Bean and have a giggle over together.
And I’m thankful for a break in the study time and the chance for a cup of coffee and music this morning. 🙂

Published in: on March 6, 2017 at 6:43 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://1000fieldsofroses.wordpress.com/2017/03/06/counting-the-blessings/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

