Rest

Prince of Peace – (Hillsong United)

My heart of stone; clouds raging deep within
The Prince of Peace came bursting through the wind
The violent sky held its breath
And in Your light I found rest
Tearing through the night, riding on the storm
Staring down the fight, my eyes found Yours
Shining like the sun, striding through my fear
The Prince of Peace met me there
You heard my prayer
Hope like the sun; light piercing through the dark
The Prince of Peace came, broke into my heart
The violent cross, the empty grave
And in Your light I found grace
Tearing through the night, riding on the storm
Staring down the fight, my eyes found Yours
Shining like the sun, striding through my fear
The Prince of Peace met me there
You’re always there
You’ve been hearing my prayer
Your love
 …………………………………………..
I’ve spent the morning sitting on the patio, enjoying the greenery, the birdsong and the intermittent rain. I’ve also been listening to this song, and others, from an album called “Of Dirt and Grace”.
This week has been up and down… today is lovely. I have been contemplating all sorts of things lately… why does ill health get me down so much? Of course the feelings of pain, and nausea, and exhaustion are hard to deal with. On good days I can do well, look forward… on bad days I can tend to forget there ever were good days.
I think I’ve come to the conclusion that the main, basic, underlying fear is the fear of death, and leaving things undone (young(ish) family, other goals). Whether the likelihood of dying is there (it’s not, at the moment, for me 🙂 ), illness can make you think along those lines… which is why I’ve been resting in songs such as this one. Rest is not necessarily the absence of storms, but finding a place of stillness in the middle of the storm.
Even when I forget, or can’t see through the clouds, I am held. Securely. With Grace and Love.
It’s time to take a new breath.
Published in: on September 9, 2016 at 1:49 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://1000fieldsofroses.wordpress.com/2016/09/09/rest/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

