Psalms In The Stillness

I was sitting in the library today, listening to music… some days are weary, and I need to stop and find peace. This was one of the songs, De Profundis, based on Psalm 130. The title refers to the opening words – “Out of the depths”. On days that seem deep, with walls all around, it’s good to remember to look up…

Here’s the translation –

Out of the depths have I cried unto Thee, O Lord.
Lord, hear my voice:
Let Thine ears be attentive
to the voice of my supplications.
If Thou, Lord, shouldst mark iniquities,
O Lord, who shall stand?
But there is forgiveness with Thee,
that thou mayest be feared.
I wait for the Lord, my soul doth wait,
and in His word do I hope.
More than they that watch for the morning,
let Israel hope in the Lord.
For with the Lord there is mercy,
and with Him is plenteous redemption.
And He shall redeem Israel
from all his iniquities.

Published in: on October 9, 2014 at 8:08 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://1000fieldsofroses.wordpress.com/2014/10/09/psalms-in-the-stillness/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

