45

Had my birthday a few weeks ago – turned 45. How did that happen?
I know I’m getting older. The creeping aches and pains, and other signs, keep that in my mind. Somehow, though, I still have a corner of my brain that registers as “20-something”. It can sometimes be a shock to be confronted again with the truth!

I had a lovely, but low key day. We were holidaying on Bribie Island (not much for bright lights/big city…) Our school year has started a couple of weeks late, but we needed the break – we’re a lot calmer, and healthier, than we were before we left.

So, I started my birthday with a coffee at a bookshop/coffee place with free wifi. That’s a good way to start the day…
My boys both got me presents they thought I would like, and their choices were so different, and so them! Littlest bean had made sure he had a present before the day – he got me a white chocolate Freddo frog (and then kept checking back throughout the day to make sure I’d eaten it… ) Biggest boy waited till he saw me looking at a Celtic style ring at the Abbey Museum (the trip there was one of my birthday treats) He asked me if I liked it, and when I said “Yes”, took it and bought it for me. Hubby organised the day to include the things I wanted to do (and later added a heart necklace. Because he’s cool like that ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) I didn’t get stacks of expensive presents – but each one was chosen and given with love, and tailored just for me. That makes them priceless ๐Ÿ˜€

We finished the day eating fish and chips by the beach, as the last of the sun streamed through the clouds.

birthday sunset

I couldn’t see the image until I downloaded it later – the light makes it hard to see the screen. But there – that gap in the clouds – that’s my birthday heart. I know it’s a bit vague – but it’s tailor made for me ๐Ÿ˜€

Published in: on February 22, 2014 at 9:48 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://1000fieldsofroses.wordpress.com/2014/02/22/45/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. another lovely post. I can see the heart – so sweet. Don’t fret about getting old – life gets sweeter and love gets deeper. Besides I’ll always be 19 years ahead of you. Your husband was amazing again with his help the other day – I have a small gift for him I hope will bless you all.

    • Hi ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m not really fretting – just a bit of a shock to be reminded again! Steve says thank you very much for the tickets, but that you didn’t have to do that – he was happy to help ๐Ÿ˜€


Leave a Reply

