Coconut Coffee Surprise

I’ve been reading about the health benefits of coconut oil.. it’s good for all sorts of things, but I find it hard to eat it straight. I’ve been putting it in cooked rice, with tuna and seeds… and finely chopped ginger, if I’m feeling adventurous..

The other day I came across a recipe for using it in coffee, instead of milk. Sounds a bit strange, right?
Here it is –

1 tablespoon of coconut oil (or 2, or 3…)
1 teaspoon of unsalted butter
Cup of coffee

Put it all in a blender.
Blend.

Simple! 🙂

coffee blender

Here it is in the blender… surprisingly normal-looking.

coffee first try

This was my first try. I’m not sure whether it was because I didn’t blend it for long enough, or because I didn’t have any unsalted butter, but it was a bit oilier than I’d like… those spots are little globs of oil.

coffee second try

Second try – bubbles rather than oil splodges 😀
It’s not as coconutty as you’d think… still a slight tinge of oiliness. I had butter this time.. it seems to make it a bit smoother..

Delicious!

Published in: on August 2, 2013 at 11:49 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://1000fieldsofroses.wordpress.com/2013/08/02/coconut-coffee-surprise/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That sounds good, I love coconut 🙂

    • 🙂 enjoy the recipe!


Leave a Reply

