From The Sublime To The Ridiculous….

Today has been a tiring, but wonderful day… I went into Brisbane to meet up with some lovely friends, and took the opportunity to have a wander round Brisbane. I don’t often get the chance πŸ˜€

So… met up with everybody at South Bank for breakfast… there was lots of talking, laughter, and philosophical discussion πŸ˜€ We had an international guest, the beautiful Jane, to add to the radiance…
I love to laugh. I love to have people I can laugh with. And I loved this morning!
Not all my photos turned out, so I’ll just share what I have πŸ˜€

Lisa and Belinda

Jane and Donna

Belinda and Short One πŸ˜€

Meg

Jane

Sisters? πŸ˜€

Rainbow socks!

I started out by writing “beautiful” before each name, but it looked a bit funny one after the other… besides, I think it’s pretty obvious they’re all beautiful…. πŸ˜€
We first met up as a group at South Bank (different restaurant) a few years ago… deja vu…
Before we left, Bel gave us some amazing little rainbow jumpers (or, possibly, mouse coats…) that she had made –

Β With a 20c piece to show scale…
Look at that TEENY TINY COAT HANGER!
*ahem*
moving on….

We all drifted off to ordinary life again after that… I had a look round the South Bank Markets for a bit (while bumping in to Donna from time to time… πŸ˜€ ) Had a look round the Queensland Art Gallery and the Gallery of Modern Art… saw some works “in the flesh” that I had only previously seen in books (a Picasso and a Degas) Hiked up to St John’s Cathedral in Ann Street because I’d heard there was a concert, but it was way out of my price range (i.e not free…)

Back to Post Office Square, where I had a chat with some people from Occupy Brisbane…

… and, finally, got to see the Zombie March!

Every so often they would all scream/howl… creepy…
I watched for a little while, but had to start on my way home… went up the escalator to Central Station, with the screams of (apparently) 10000 zombies pursuing me…

And, finally, home! I decided the perfect place for my newest jumper was on my inspirational notice board πŸ˜€

And so, to sleep… perchance to dream….

Published in: on October 23, 2011 at 10:07 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://1000fieldsofroses.wordpress.com/2011/10/23/from-the-sublime-to-the-ridiculous/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow honey, you had a big day out! Little me went home and flaked out on the couch! Too much fun for me lately. I was buggered. The art gallery is fabulous, isn’t it? Need to set aside a day for that in the near future. The last time I was there, I saw a Pre-Raphaelite exhibit. Must be nearly 10 years ago. Yikes.
    Awesome photos! I’m a *very* ordinary photographer and must enjoy my memories through the good photography of others. So thank you, Janelle!
    Super glad you survived those zombies too. Phew! ;^)

    xo

  2. πŸ˜€ Glad you got to rest… the way I feel this morning I almost wish I’d gone home for a rest! Glad I didn’t, though…
    Yes, we’ll have to check out the gallery together! Not sure what’s coming up there… πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

