Compassion

Today I received a letter that made me cry….
For the last eight years or so, we have sponsored a little girl (more a teenager, now) through Compassion. We have prayed for her, and written letters (although not as often as we should…. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ) throughout that time. Today we received word that she has left the sponsorship programme, despite every effort being made to encourage her to continue. We don’t know the reason…. she is still attending school, though…
I will continue to pray for her life and future, as I do for the girl (now an adult) who was our sponsored child before this one, and who left the programme prematurely, as well.
I was surprised at the grief I felt when I read the letter, as I had never actually met, or spoken, to her… but through letters and updates, you become a part of each other’s lives….

We were given the option to support another child, so this afternoon I got onto the computer and found a little boy to sponsor – we have transferred our support to him (instantaneous over the internet ๐Ÿ˜€ ) I put in specific criteria to find him – our other sponsored child is the same age as our oldest, so I was looking for a little boy the same age as our youngest. I put in my littlest’s exact birthdate, and got one match! Our newest boy is exactly the same age as littlest bean, which I love. But…. what’s more, he lives in the Philippines, 70 – 80 miles south of Bacolod City, where hubby and I spent time on a mission trip (many, many…) years ago. I feel that God has gone before us, and am excited to have the opportunity to get to know, help and encourage another little bean ๐Ÿ˜€

It’s easy to sponsor a child through Compassion (there are other organisations… we have been with Compassion for many years, and trust them) All you need is to go online, and everything you need to start is there. You can even write letters to your child online ๐Ÿ˜€ Here’s a link…. I highly recommend it, especially if you have your own children…

Compassion Australia

Blessings to all! ๐Ÿ˜€

 

 

Published in: on June 9, 2011 at 5:16 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://1000fieldsofroses.wordpress.com/2011/06/09/compassion/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

